Fifty Shades of Grey(s)

5 Feb

After we made a definite decision to make our house our “forever home;” to do away with any notion we entertained when we were younger of building a home for our retirement on 5 acres of property that we own & that is paid for, I went methodically ahead at planned intervals with adding a new & upgraded master bath, doing a total renovation of our outdated kitchen &, our most recent project, adding a large sunroom. If we were, indeed, going to stay here literally until the end of time … or until the end of OUR time anyway, I wanted to make our home as user friendly as possible while continuing to be the one place in this world I truly preferred to be. As it’s turned out, the sunroom addition in 2014 has become one of my happiest places.

The sunroom is large … big enough for a recumbent bicycle, an elliptical trainer, & an assortment of plants. The room also accommodates a full-sized sofa, 2 leather chairs, an occasional chair & a bar-height dining table & 4 tall chairs. The table & chairs are directly in front of a large expanse of glass & give diners the best seat in the house.

Most days when I’m home & on weekends when we’re both here we have breakfast & lunch in the sunroom. It overlooks the back yard & the woods & we have private stadium-like seating watching wildlife, & especially deer wandering through the yard, unaware of our presence in the grandstand. We have even watched, to my amazement, a family of deer lie down in the snow in the woods on a wintery afternoon.

Watching the seasons change through those sunroom windows while having breakfast has become one of my truest joys. Recently I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast watching the snow fall outside those windows. With no television & no radio in that lovely room, it literally was as quiet as falling snow.

This morning, just 8 days away from Valentine’s Day & a little less than 30 degrees outside, I took my breakfast to the sunroom table & sat in the warmth of the room watching puffy white clouds streaming past the bluest morning sky at the highest window point in the room. No deer this morning, but the yard was alive with squirrels; another section of the wildlife spectrum that charms us, with the possible exception of the 2 years a family of them lived in our attic, defying us daily & all through the night to evict them.

What caught my attention on this brisk & beautiful morning were a couple of grey squirrels balancing on a twig of a branch extending from the limb of a large, leafless poplar tree. Instead of their usual gymnastics, the pair was engaged in a dance ritual as old as time. They were mating … & I was mesmerized.

While it wasn’t entirely the squirrel biology that fascinated me, the unstable logistics of the exercise WAS. There was a lot of scampering & twirling & hang-gliding off that spindly branch &, in turn, a lot of flexing of the bark. The branch seemed to be precariously attached by a thread to the limb & there was a heck of a lot of movement. It boggled the mind just how any creature could carry such an important biological mission to completion under those tentative circumstances. And it was very cold this morning.

So, yes, I DID watch until the grey squirrels had completed their mission, against the many odds of nature on this crisp morning.  It was a lesson in tenacity, determination, danger, possibly love & maybe a rite of early spring.

When I went back into the kitchen, breakfast dishes in hand, Willy asked why I was in the sunroom so long when we were obviously going to be late for church if I didn’t hurry. When I told him about the squirrel play, he accused me of being a “Squirrel Voyeur,” even though I explained it was not the act that kept my attention but the many impediments the squirrels faced in accomplishing it. Ever the romantic, I explained it was sort of like a novel of forbidden love that leads the characters down many twisted arteries & limbs but somehow they manage to consummate the relationship … no matter how weird, aberrant, deviant & against all odds.

Willy just looked at me ……….

He googled, “Grey Squirrel Reproduction” & found out February is one of their most prolific months for “getting it on,” so this morning’s squirrels were right on time & apparently, right on target.

Willy & I have a checkered history with our neighborhood squirrels. We’ve fed them in winter & reluctantly housed them in our attic for 2 years while exterminators came & went, unable to find a humane means of evicting them. They’ve made attic nesting places among the limbs of our artificial Christmas tree to store their nuts & scratched the attic sheet rock to shreds in several places. Now I have witnessed their mating ritual & was blown away … not by the act, but by how, with a little ingenuity, they overcame pretty tremendous odds. My respect for them ebbs & flows …

In the world of the grey squirrels, we’ve witnessed at least 50 Shades of Grey(s) …

juvenilegraysquirrel

 

11 Responses to “Fifty Shades of Grey(s)”

  1. Betty February 5, 2017 at 10:33 pm #

    The next Sunday at church that people share their “God moments”, I double dog dare you & Willy to share this. I will remember & prompt you if you want.

    Liked by 2 people

    • heimdalco February 5, 2017 at 10:44 pm #

      That’s just TOOOO funny, Betty. Do you think people would approve of us sharing THAT??? I will not be able to hold back the laughter if you start prompting me …

      Like

  2. Gail February 6, 2017 at 7:52 am #

    Still my favorite animal lover BFF!!!
    What a groooovy article!!
    Love you lots still!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • heimdalco February 6, 2017 at 4:32 pm #

      THANK YOU, Gail … you’re still my animal BFF, too. Glad you enjoyed this entry about squirrel intimacy.

      Thinking of you …

      Like

      • Gail February 6, 2017 at 4:40 pm #

        U R still a wild & crazy girl!!! 😍

        Liked by 1 person

  3. willy smith February 6, 2017 at 3:33 pm #

    I was wondering what was taking you so long out there. I told the guys at work about your sighting and they wanted video if you had it.
    I told them you might …hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • heimdalco February 6, 2017 at 4:34 pm #

      Sorry, guys at work … no video but it is a vision I won’t soon forget … LOL. I didn’t PLAN to get involved in squirrel intimacy when I took my breakfast to the sunroom. You should have gone out there with me.See what you missed???

      Like

  4. Teran Harrison February 8, 2017 at 7:19 pm #

    How adorable. Linda , Jay and I enjoyed this one so much. Thank you . Teran

    Liked by 1 person

    • heimdalco February 8, 2017 at 9:02 pm #

      Thanks for reading my stuff, Teran. I enjoy getting an idea & running with it … as you well know from being my friend for 30 years … LOL. Hugs to you & Jay

      Like

  5. reriggins7 February 12, 2017 at 10:25 pm #

    I’ve enjoyed time with you in that beautiful sunroom! One time, maybe I’ll come in February. Hmmm, I still have a couple of weeks!
    Thanks for sharing the story. Isn’t it amazing that life goes on in the midst of such precarious, perilous circumstances? There is definitely a “story of God at work” here….as long as you choose carefully what you share ;P

    Liked by 1 person

    • heimdalco February 12, 2017 at 11:57 pm #

      Today we shared Stories of God at Work. Betty Hudson said she “double dog dared” Willy & I to share this story. Willy said HE could tell it carefully, tip toeing around the biological factor, but I didn’t trust him … LOL … so it didn’t get told. Betty was disappointed

      Thanks for reading my stuff, Rebecca & you are welcome in my sunroom any time … to relax or watch squirrels

      Love to you

      Like

Leave a Reply

