We Could Use a Little Magic, Stephen King

9 Jul

A friend … someone I’ve known more than half my life … reminded me recently of a moment she & I shared a long time ago. It was a simple, but good moment & when she mentioned it I was suddenly propelled in my mind back to that specific time & incident. It was one of those unexpected “brain” experiences where I suddenly remembered where she & I were; where we were standing & what we said, to be exact, & the delight of the moment. I would like to go back & enjoy it one more time.

Our country is in turmoil. Snipers, mass shootings, hasty actions & unchecked reactions, racial tensions, slaughtered innocents, open carry, concealed carry, crazy politicians, TSA, NRA, FBI, BLM, ALM, cell phones, texting, sexting, social media, faulty air bags & exploding hover boards … it escalates daily & the end doesn’t seem to be anywhere in sight. We’d rather record a moment of horror to add to our social media STATUS later than actually help defuse the situation. A friend from New Zealand said to me, “America seems to be imploding, Linda” & it scares the hell out of me that I believe he is right.

If we remember growing up in this country in what seemed to be gentler times, we’d enjoy seeing those times again. Not that those of us my age haven’t seen our share of tumultuous times in our country. Those times, as they were happening, were unbelievable … unfathomable … but they had greater space between them & weren’t an almost daily occurrence.  Right this minute those difficult times seem like a stroll in the park in comparison to just this week alone. I can’t keep up … can’t remember which horrific event happened when … it’s just too much.

I think now is the time for Stephen King to step in … step up to the plate & “write” us a portal through which we could step back to happier, less schizoid times. If anyone can pull that off, Stephen King can. I have a tremendous amount of faith in his abilities & he isn’t even a presidential candidate.

If we could all revisit our collection of happy memories with the people in our lives that we truly care about &, with Mr. King’s assistance, actually step back into those memories & relive them just one more time, what a blessing that would be. If we have a lot of those memories & a number of wonderful people to share them with AGAIN, it would probably take us a while. And isn’t that what we need, really? If we can’t stop the horror then we could certainly use some time away from it.

And while we’re gone maybe our country will “right” itself … hiccup or burp or hit the RESET button & when we return, times will be less crazy. How wonderful to come back to THAT reality after spending time with special people enjoying our most wonderful memories a second time around.

We’ve experienced the horror & could certainly use a break.  We could actually use a little magic because, sadly, that’s what it may take to stop the horrors of today & set us on a steadier course.

Can you help us, Stephen King???

 

I’d like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony …………………….

a hands of peace

 

8 Responses to “We Could Use a Little Magic, Stephen King”

  1. cheeseheadva July 9, 2016 at 6:28 pm #

    Another thoughtful blog post. Yes, we do need the intervention of a King. However, in my humble opinion, it is not Stephen King whose intervention is needed. No, it is not the King also known as Elvis. It is certainly not another musical artist known as Prince. We need the intervention of the King of Kings and the Prince of Peace. Yes, many will regard what I have written as “corny.” However, that doesn’t make it any less true.

    Liked by 1 person

    • heimdalco July 9, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

      Exactly, George … I agree. Times were better when that King was more a part of our lives. We have fallen quite a distance with less inclusion of Him. We need a “FIX” & He is the best place to start.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Ramsey July 10, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    A beautiful wish! One way to reset our minds is to go thru old photos and remember those times! I pray daily sometimes hourly for our nation!!

    Like

    • heimdalco July 10, 2016 at 7:11 pm #

      Thanks, Jane … It was nice that my friend mentioned that memory from well over 40 years ago. The mind is a terrific computer. I remembered it just like she did …and that’s just cool …

      Like

      • Gail McCullen Koester July 11, 2016 at 5:11 pm #

        Hey Linda. Excellent!! Your words are in my wacky mind also and I am scared too death for our country. How blessed I was to grow up in the 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s. After witnessing the horrors of the rioting, burning and killings in Wilmington in the 60’s and 70’s, I am horrified that it is all back tenfold. Prayers, people, prayers for peace. And Mr King we’d appreciate if you would start on that portal today. Kudos, Linda!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. heimdalco July 11, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

    Thank you so much, Gail. Sometimes everything just seems overwhelming & I was thinking about Stephen King & one of his most recent books. There was a portal at the doorway of a kitchen that took the main character back to the 60s where he had a chance to reverse the assassination of President Kennedy. Very good & thought provoking book.

    While I wouldn’t suggest revisiting the 60s, (except for those very special personal times), … we have our own very weighty crosses to bear during THESE frightening times … the idea of that portal stayed with me.

    Thank you for reading my stuff.

    Like

  4. tomrains July 28, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

    We need philosophers and thinkers to rule, like Aristotle said!! (So I approve of Stephen King) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • heimdalco July 28, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

      Thanks so much, Tom. I wish Stephen King would hurry up with that portal …

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

