When the Cat Clucks …

20 Mar

Spring is my most favorite season. After struggling through the cold dreariness & inches of snow in January & February, spring bursts forth with its multitude of colors … minty green new leaves, the pinks & whites of dogwood, red bud & Bradford pear trees …& offers hope of renewal, warm days to come & walking to the mailbox barefoot.

After surviving a life-threatening illness 8 years ago I have learned never to take anything for granted; most especially the beauty of spring. Heck … I don’t even mind the layers of thick yellow pollen that turn my husband’s white vehicle a light mustard color & my blue car green … except for the watery eyes & sneezing, of course. It can’t be ALL good.

If we are Christians, spring offers a time of joy & celebration at Easter.

In a recent pleasant conversation with our minister, he & I touched on some of the challenges we face in life. I shared with him that I had, just moments before our conversation began, indulged in one of the pleasures that comes with the Easter season that has an extreme calming effect on me. I had eaten a Cadbury Egg.  He responded, “I wish you had told me 8 years ago that Cadbury Eggs have a calming effect on you…I would have offered you some along the way in our journey together had I known!” He is a special human being.

My husband knows that I like chocolate & at Easter I really enjoy an occasional chocolate bunny. I don’t much care for those hollow bunnies, though. Somehow the chocolate doesn’t taste “rich” enough & I could swear I’ve heard an echo from deep within the empty bowels of those bunnies from time to time when I’ve bitten their ears off. So Willy, all knowing that he is, came home this year with a good-sized Hershey chocolate bunny that was solid through-and-through. I started at his feet & nibbled my way to his ears. It took me several days to finish him off & never once did I hear a grumble or an echo. Now THAT’S a chocolate bunny!

But Cadbury Eggs are my absolute favorite!

I don’t know if it’s because they are just plain good & satisfying to my lust for chocolate or if it’s something else entirely. What I REALLY think is that it’s a combination of good chocolate & good marketing.

To begin with, Cadbury Eggs are different as well as good. If a product can be really good AND different, the manufacturer is half way around the bases & headed for home. The chocolate is rich & smooth & delicious, but here’s the hook (or hook #1). Inside those fantastic eggs is delicious cream filling & there’s … wait for it … a YOKE. Not only does finding a yoke inside those candy eggs thrill children, it also thrills & especially delights adults … well, me anyway. I just think it’s the coolest thing ever … & I continue to be delighted EVERY time I enjoy the guilty pleasure associated with eating a Cadbury Egg.

Hook #2 is that you can only find Cadbury Chocolate Cream & yoke-filled Eggs once a year … at Easter. While the chocolate product itself is right up there at the top of the Yum-Yum Scale, the fact that they are rare & can only be found a couple of months out of each year makes them even MORE desire-worthy. There have been times during bleak Februarys that I would have KILLED for just one of the smaller Cadbury Eggs.

Hook #3 is marketing .  Several weeks before Easter while watching TV & being accosted by no less than 8 commercial advertisements every 12 minutes during an hour-long favorite television show, suddenly there is an advertisement for Cadbury Eggs. It delights me & I sit back & just say, “Awwwww.”

Cadbury must have the most brilliant advertising team of any product on the market today… if there IS a team. That team, if it exists, must have a tremendous amount of free time on its hands because advertising must surely only consist of lining up which shows to sponsor. The reason for this … & it is brilliant … is that the Cadbury Egg people use the SAME advertisement year-after-year because it is EFFECTIVE. It is also timeless & has TERRIFIC appeal. If I am any indication of that appeal, the ad / commercial appeals as much to the adult, TV-watching population as it does to children. Perhaps more, because we, as adults can appreciate the nuances of the commercial with a laugh & a simple feel-good moment.

If there’s anyone who hasn’t seen that once-a-year Cadbury Egg commercial, please do watch for it while there’s still time. Very soon after Easter it will disappear & you will have to wait a full year to have the pleasure.

The commercial involves a variety of animals … a pig, a horse, an occasional turtle …wearing bunny ears on a head band clucking like chickens. There’s even a bunny that clucks like a chicken because he / she is delivering Cadbury Eggs to Easter Baskets around the world. My favorite, though, is the cat wearing that bunny-ear head band & clucking. Being a cat person since birth, THAT is the hook that gets me every time because it combines 2 of my most favorite things EVER – Cadbury Eggs & CATS. It also reminds me that Cadbury Eggs are on the market again & I’d better rush right out & replenish my stash.

When my minister responded that he would have offered me Cadbury Eggs along our journey together the past 8 years had he realized that they had a calming effect on me, I responded, “I didn’t realize just how calming until this year when they appeared in stores & I bought my FIRST 5-pack. (I’m on my second).

So I am thoroughly enjoying this pre-Easter season & my recent discovery that Cadbury Cream & yoke-filled chocolate Eggs now come in 5-packs. I also can appreciate the genius that the Cadbury marketing folks show in their advertising efforts & making those delicious eggs available only once a year.

Mostly, I appreciate the commercials. My mouth waters on command (Pavlov’s dogs have nothing on ME) & I take unexpected trips to the store in search of just one more Cadbury Egg every time I hear that cat cluck.

cadbury bunny cat

 

6 Responses to “When the Cat Clucks …”

  1. Willy March 20, 2016 at 7:08 pm #

    I know how much you love cats AND the Cadbury eggs … so this doesn’t surprise me the least bit.
    Thanks for the bite of your solid bunny and the eggs you’ve bought me.

    Like

    • heimdalco March 20, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

      Did you know I have a 5-pack of Cadbury Eggs in the kitchen cabinet RIGHT NOW?

      Love you

      Like

  2. cheeseheadva March 21, 2016 at 12:18 pm #

    This blog post was as delightful to my soul as a Cadbury chocolate egg is to your palate! Guess where a picture of a Cadbury egg will be shown next Sunday morning at Monroe UMC, Linda!

    Like

    • heimdalco March 21, 2016 at 5:23 pm #

      I LOVE it, George … can’t wait to see the Cadbury Egg on Sunday. You actually inspired the blog post … by
      suggesting an entry & by inspiring it with your email. Thank you & thank you for reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. plf6452 May 26, 2016 at 10:25 pm #

    I so enjoyed reading this entry, Linda. I, too, am a huge fan of the Cadbury egg. And LOVE that commercial so much. Makes me laugh every time I see it. Also, am also amaze by the contents of the original egg!! It got a great big “How Cool!” from me the first time I saw it. Unique, brilliant, creative, delightful and SOOO smooth and yummy, too!! 😉
    I love the clucking cat AND the lion, too. Hard to make a lion’s roar sound like a chicken. LoL
    Thanks for your wonderful take on the treats of Easter…most especially Cadbury’s famous contribution to the season!!
    Bravo!! 🙂

    Like

    • heimdalco May 26, 2016 at 10:32 pm #

      Peggy, thank you SO much for the kind words AND the shared enthusiasm for all things Cadbury. Love your response …

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

