The Martian

5 Oct

Day 12 of rain. If we have more rain tomorrow as predicted (hopefully the last of it), we will be just 27 days behind… & threatening to break… the existing record of 40 days & 40 nights.

Between Day 1 & Day 12 we’ve had showers, downpours, high winds, power outages, toppled trees, flooded low-lying areas, streets & basements, ceiling leaks, broken rain gauges & records, cresting rivers & rain locally heavy at times” resulting in 4.46” of rain in just one 24 hour period. While farmers were struggling to protect unharvested crops, most people were just trying to stay ahead of the next downpour.  Thankfully, we were only kissed by the whisper of hurricane Joaquin.  By the grace of God, our area dodged the bitterest pummeling of that bullet. We were truly blessed.

There’s a lot to be said about depression that affects some people when there is an absence of sun for many, many days on end. Even the least depressed of us start feeling caged after a while & look for different things to do during those periods when the weather anchor on the News at Six tells us not to venture outside unless we “HAVE” to.

So here on Day 12 my husband suggested that we forego another dreary afternoon at home watching it rain & go to a movie. He wanted to see The Martian with Matt Damon. Since we both enjoy anything about space, I was delighted to go & it was, after all, still raining.

There were a lot of people at the movie. It was like a refugee camp of rain survivors; many of us sharing that hollow, vacant-eyed stare that one acquires from being bitten by a zombie or from days of squinting through mist & fog; whichever happens to be plaguing your area. We were among our own kind …

The Martian was a WONDERFUL movie & 2 hours spent primarily on the alien soil of the “red planet” was a delightful change of scenery from gray & wet. The theater was so still & quiet once the film began, you could hear the monotonous squeak of popcorn between teeth & the telltale sound of Rolo wrappers hitting the floor.  It was good to be in that different place.

The Martian was intense but it was also exciting, clever, intellectually appealing, funny, fast paced & VERY believable. It was laced throughout with nostalgic music from “my time,” which added a special appeal.  There was none of the hokie stuff that MIGHT have slipped into a similar script. It was a story of teamwork & resourcefulness that was, on many occasions, a seat gripper. Several times I had to remind myself to breathe.

Matt Damon gets 5 “thumbs up” from me for an Oscar … or maybe even two (Oscars, not thumbs). The film was one that we just hated to see end & sat there through the credits because we didn’t want to miss anything. I believe that speaks volumes about the character of the movie & really had nothing to do with the fact that the wind was still blowing a fine, cold mist around just outside the theater entrance. I LOVED it!

Coming out of the theater into the gray mist & whipping wind of the day wasn’t so bad after all. Filled with 2 gallons of Coke & an 8-gallon bucket of popcorn, we were too stuffed & too wrung out from our short stay on Mars to want dinner. It was a delightful afternoon.

*         *          *

Willy & I both have lousy knees so we sat on the front row where there was “leg stretching room.” From my seat, if I glanced to the left I could see the upper & lower theater EXITS.

My mom took me to movies from the time I was old enough to respond to light & sound & took me screaming from Bambi when the fawn’s mother was killed by hunters. To this day I’ve never seen the rest of that movie. Today the girl taking up our tickets was also checking purses … a relief but also a disquieting reminder of the times in which we live.  I have been going to movies most of my life but today was the first time I’ve ever felt a nudge of anxiety & uncertainty when glancing at those EXITS.

I realized I was subconsciously alert & continually felt a twinge of relief when each person or couple came into the theater to find a seat. Some part of my mind was replaying recent theater scenes of shooters & mass murders; of automatic assault weapons & craziness in the dark … an all too often repeated sign of our times & our culture.

I am angry at these times & this culture for spreading a dark & unwanted blanket over my otherwise enjoyable afternoon & hope that generations that come after us will never have to feel the weight of that blanket. I remember when an afternoon at the movies didn’t hold any threats or anxiety. We just went to the movies & had a good time.

*         *         *

For an afternoon of good, solid entertainment … with very minimal questionable language & none of the violence people heap upon each other … go to see The Martian. You won’t be disappointed & if it’s raining outside you will forget all about it ……….

Martian

 

6 Responses to “The Martian”

  1. Anthony Moshonas October 6, 2015 at 12:34 am #

    Sounds like a Great movie, Linda….Glad to see the sun again 🙂
    Thanks for sharing …..

    Like

    • heimdalco October 6, 2015 at 1:12 am #

      Thanks, Tony … I recommend the movie highly.

      Yep … the sun is the best mood elevator there is … that & chocolate … LOL

      Like

  2. Willy Smith October 6, 2015 at 10:12 am #

    It WAS the best movie I’ve seen in quite some time and there even was clapping by the audience when a stressful event was over. Like Linda said … we were with our own kind that day and it was probably the squeaking of popcorn in my mouth she heard (some still lodged in a molar that I’m working on).

    About the “front row” seating … this theater has a main walkway – one up one down and that’s where we sat. ONE time I sat on the REAL front row when my childhood son and I were seeing movies and I gave his the choice of any seat he wanted at the Roger Rabbit movie. Oh it was awful, everything too big and too loud … but I hung in there.

    Thanks for the good write-up Linda to which you have a flair for words describing an event we share. I look forward to the next.

    Like

    • heimdalco October 6, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks, Willy. I had forgotten about the audience … & US … clapping after stressful movie events & at the end of the movie. That doesn’t happen often & makes us all “one with the crowd;” enjoying something that touched us ALL in pretty much the same way. So being AT the movie had a lot of conflicting stuff … having my purse searched while having our tickets taken, the haunting memory of recent theater violence … but it was balanced by the obvious enjoyment we shared with everyone in the theater. That coming together … clapping at shared moments during the film that moved us as an audience & a body of like-minded people … those were the defining moments at the theater.

      We had a good time …………….

      Like

  3. Teran Harrison October 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm #

    Wow Linda, Jay and I so enjoyed the Martian ! thank you for the blog. Love Teran and Jay

    Like

    • heimdalco October 12, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

      Thank you guys once again for reading my stuff. Love you both …

      Like

Leave a Reply

