What Happened to the Red Sweater?

28 Sep

red sweaterMy husband, Willy just read my Toilet Paper and the Empire State Building blog entry & sent a comment back to me via Word Press. Out of all that stuff I said in the entry, the one thing he said that stood out in his mind was what was I wearing underneath the cardigan sweater that got ripped off my shoulders & flung across the city of New York when I stepped off the elevator to the top of the Empire State Building so many years ago?

(Men … go figure). In his quest for the answer to that burning question he hit upon my fondness for my holey (holy) KISS t-shirt, although I’m still trying to understand his connection between the two. He noted how all the holes leave little to the imagination regarding what I’m wearing underneath when I’m wearing it (not at all like the flying red cardigan from NYC.)

That KISS t-shirt is important to me for a number of reasons, not the least of which is that it’s very comfortable & it’s cool that it still fits. It also is considered “vintage” by now (or is it an antique?) because it’s over 25 years old. And who could not enjoy the memory of KISS in the early years? But the reason I am so truly attached to that old shirt is because we had a cat in those days that was very special to me. She was a Tuxedo Cat with one blue eye & one green eye. That, & her personality made her unique in the universe & I loved her as only an ailurophile can love a special cat.

From the time Molly was a kitten & came home with me from a trip I made to the animal shelter, she would let me hold her like one might hold a baby on your shoulder. She would purr & nuzzle her head under my chin … UNTIL she decided she’d had enough. Then she would unexpectedly & rapidly climb my chest & do a power take-off from my shoulder, launching herself at a nearby chair or the floor, whichever came first. In true cat fashion, she always ended up on her feet.

Molly lived to be 14 years old & today I still own a number of what I classify as “Molly Clothes.” They all have holes in the front & there are several terrycloth robes that have monster picks & pulls from her power take-offs. That wonderful old KISS t-shirt is among them. Because I loved Molly so, wearing that shirt (& the robes) reminds me of her & the special relationship I had with her, the bond we shared & those often painful power take-offs that propelled her into the air. They were much the same as that wind atop the Empire State Building that propelled my red cardigan sweater to God only knows where.

Willy did briefly wonder where the flying red cardigan sweater landed after it so unexpectedly took flight that April afternoon from 1,454 feet atop NYC’s once tallest building. And that made me wonder, too.

I was wearing a sleeveless dress under the flying cardigan all those years ago & I DO hope it ended up on a homeless person who needed it (the sweater … not my dress). Since it was launched from that height & swished along by the force of the wind, it could possibly still be in flight or maybe be adorning a large bird as its unfortunate fate propels it towards an unsuspecting plane propeller (I hope not).  Maybe it was mistaken for a red UFO, which would be a wonderful story line for a bad science fiction novel, or at the very least, a short story or graphic novel. If nothing else, it could be in New Jersey by now.

I missed that red cardigan after it was gone, but not as much as Willy is going to miss those toilet paper tubes when he builds fires in the wood stove this winter …

 

8 Responses to “What Happened to the Red Sweater?”

  1. Anthony Moshonas September 29, 2014 at 12:15 am #

    Lol ..Linda. Another good one 🙂 …The Red Sweater… was probably reported as a UFO sighting before it went into the “Black Hole” ….Gone but not Forgotten !!! 🙂 Thanks ..Loved it!

    Like

    • heimdalco September 29, 2014 at 12:19 am #

      Thanks again, Tony. I’m so glad to have time again to do a blog entry. Summer with the auction is just too hectic. Love the “Black Hole” idea. Wish I’d thought to add that … LOL. Thanks again …

      Like

      • James Cecil September 29, 2014 at 8:33 am #

        What would be really cool right now is that you get a package in the mail from someone in NYC and that red sweater is in the package along with a note on how the red sweater saved their life by providing them with warmth and comfort during their time of need.

        Commodore James Cecil
        Commanding Officer
        DOIC 111th MSG Bluegrass Stallions
        USS Commonwealth NCC 74670
        usscommonwealth.org
        Region One

        Like

      • heimdalco September 29, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

        That would be WONDERFUL, James, especially if that sweater had survived over 30 years. I would actually like to think that it DID help someone in need. Thank you for reading, James.

        Like

      • Willy September 29, 2014 at 11:31 am #

        Yeah, wish I had thought of that too, but I’ll bet it’s still in the lost and found. And yes, I WILL be missing those cardboard tubes but I will continue in life
        Well written Linda!

        Like

      • heimdalco September 29, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

        Thanks, Willy. You were actually the inspiration for the unexpected Red Sweater blog entry …. & that’s why dinner was late last night … LOL

        Like

  2. Betty Ross September 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm #

    Very good! Why don’t you compile them into a book.

    Like

    • heimdalco September 29, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

      Thank you, Betty M. You know me SO well. I’ve already started putting my blog entries into chapters & have a working title for a book. I think I only have about 27 entries, which is not enough to submit as a book, but it’s a start.

      Thank you so much for reading my stuff. I love you …

      Like

Leave a Reply

