Image

Toilet Paper and the Empire State Building

24 Sep

I’m a huge advocate of conservation; meaning the environment & its resources should be used & managed in a responsible manner with a focus on replacing & replenishing, but I’m also an advocate for preservation; that our land & resources should be maintained & enjoyed. I guess I’m really more of a conservationist.

Whatever I am, my ears perked up recently when I saw a Scott Bathroom Tissue commercial on TV about toilet paper rolls.

Being fond of trees (I won’t let my husband cut down a diseased one in our woods as long as there’s one living leaf left or unless it’s threatening our house & then only reluctantly), I’ve always tried to find second or even third uses for paper products. I have been known to use my only vaguely soiled breakfast napkin for lunch, but that’s not common knowledge.

So when the Scott commercial came on, I watched & listened as empty toilet paper rolls around the world leapt from toilet paper holders, raced to freedom down the staircase, joined others in the streets & in the wild heading for the Empire State Building.  My attention was so “caught” that I couldn’t have pried myself away from the television had a full camera crew been at the front door with a monster-sized check telling me I’d won the Publisher’s Clearing House Sweepstakes.

It seems that we, the collective “we” who use toilet paper (& I really don’t want to think much about those who don’t – that’s another blog entry altogether), toss out annually enough empty toilet paper rolls to fill the Empire State Building not once, but twice. That’s staggering!

I would like to say that I’ve been doing my part & perhaps have helped reduce the number of toilet paper rolls by a small percentage that are advancing on one of New York City’s greatest tourist attractions. I’ve used those empty tubes after the holidays to store long Christmas decorations & once I went on a Mod Podge extravaganza with fabric, a knife & that famous glue & made everybody I knew napkin rings out of empty toilet paper tubes …AND I made them a matching fabric apron as holiday gifts. The only reason I finally stopped is that there wasn’t anyone left who didn’t have a set (& loved them, I might add).

My most recent attempts at toilet paper tube conversation have been saving them for my husband … bags full of them. He, in turn, uses them as fire starters in the winter when he builds a cozy fire in our family room wood stove. They ignite quickly & the hollow part allows free oxygen flow. Add several dry logs & there you go … instant fire. It’s a miracle!!!!

Even considering the miraculous, I decided to try the new tubeless Scott Toilet Paper; it’s called Scott Naturals. Unfortunately, it only comes in one ply … or maybe there’s two ply & I just missed it. I don’t generally like one ply but this is sturdy, so I can deal. And it does have a kind of striped design with embossed flowers that’s attractive to look at if you forget to take a magazine with you.

I remember my senior high school trip to New York City. We were Amherst County country kids who gawked at the greenness of the Statue of Liberty, got lost on a subway, ate at Mamma Leones, had terrible luck flagging down cabs, loved the Rockettes & were mesmerized & awe struck at the top of the Empire State Building. I wore a cardigan sweater around my shoulders & when I stepped off the elevator onto the top of that amazing building, the force of the wind whipped it off & we watched, helplessly, as it drifted over the stunning cityscape. Those memories are just as vivid today as if I’d made them only last week.

After we finished the first package of Scott Naturals I went out & bought another because it’s really not so bad. I like doing something good for the environment but mostly I like preserving the memories of high school seniors yet to come by making their trip to the top of the Empire State Building a memorable one without having to share space with empty toilet paper rolls or having to kick them out of the way on the that long elevator ride to the observatory at the top.

 

10 Responses to “Toilet Paper and the Empire State Building”

  1. Anthony Moshonas September 25, 2014 at 1:01 am #

    Lol Lol 🙂 … I think you had everything covered from Top to Bottom !!!! Thanks Linda !! ” )

    Like

  2. writersbridgebridgebuilder September 25, 2014 at 1:55 am #

    Good one, Linda.

    Date: Wed, 24 Sep 2014 20:44:15 +0000 To: writersbridge@hotmail.com

    Like

    • heimdalco September 25, 2014 at 3:20 am #

      Thanks, Darrell … (smiling at you)

      Like

  3. reriggins7 September 25, 2014 at 4:38 am #

    Oh Linda…you are so funny!
    I have used the emptyTP rolls as cord wrappers (like headphones, small extension cords, spare DVD player cords, etc.)

    Like

    • heimdalco September 25, 2014 at 4:41 am #

      Rebecca … together we are saving the world (or at least the Empire State Building … LOL)

      Like

  4. ekdeluca September 25, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

    Love it! Like the picture too. Still learning about blogging but take a look at ours at deluca2014.com

    Kathy’s away again this week but we should be able to comment on the revised questions next week.

    Take care, Linda

    Ellen

    Ellen DeLuca, PhD, RN Professor of Nursing Lynchburg College 1501 Lakeside Dr. Lynchburg, VA 24501 PH: 434-544-8322

    ________________________________

    Like

    • heimdalco September 25, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

      Thanks, Ellen. Will look. I’m sure it’s an excellent blog. See you guys soon …

      Like

  5. Willy September 28, 2014 at 8:41 pm #

    While I’ll admit there’s something neat about breaking the long standing rule of having a cardboard tube in the center, we found out yesterday that there’s something strange going on in that new roll of TP for it to have only 420 sheets (against the mighty 1000 sheet roll of the same Scott tissue). Yes, I was taught to shop by my mother to go for the most for the same price whenever possible but since I haven’t even touched/used Linda’s TP yet, I can’t vouch for it’s softness either. It’s a fad part of me says.
    What DOES stick in my mind about the story is her cardigan sweater flying off her body and plunging 1454 feet to a homeless person below on the streets. What was she wearing underneath I wonder? Surely not that same “holey” KISS T-shirt that she walks around the house just to tease the poor husband (and occasionally the pool boy or plumber) and if the light is just right you don’t HAVE to wonder what is under the shirt it has so many holes from a previous cat. THAT would have made for an interesting school trip if I were there. BUT…
    I will miss using those tubes as fire starters most of all.

    Like

    • heimdalco September 28, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

      I was wearing a dress under the flying cardigan & I DO hope it ended up on a homeless person who needed it. Since it was launched from that height & swished along by the force of the wind, it could possibly still be in flight or maybe be adorning a large bird or maybe have been mistaken as a red UFO. At the very least, it could be in New Jersey by now. I missed it after it was gone, but not as much as you’re going to miss those TP tubes when you build fires this winter …

      And I DO love my ragged KISS t-shirt

      Like

Leave a Reply

