The Groundhog that Ate Amherst County

2 Feb

I was just talking to two friends about Groundhog Day. We all agreed we weren’t exactly pleased with Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction earlier this morning. We’ve got Cabin Fever & weren’t really crazy about the outcome of Phil’s trip to “the outside,” resulting in six more weeks of winter. Barbara said, “What Happens in Punxsutawney Should STAY in Punxsutawney” & we all agreed.

Seems everybody is affected by The Groundhog on this second day of February. Our minister told us in church this morning that he saw HIS shadow, if anybody cared.

Barbara, a former Roanoker, said she remembered Virginia’s groundhogs being 300 pounds & about seven feet tall. She said Phil, at 12 pounds, could probably eat her cat if he liked her & Rae Rae said HER cat could take Phil in a heartbeat. I told them both that Virginia groundhogs are so big that I’ve seen them riding down the side of the road headed for the fresh vegetable section of the grocery store in a Hover Round.

And there’s more …. WSET TV’s Chief Meteorologist has a photo of The Groundhog holding a sign that says, I’m a rodent, not a meteorologist.”  And there’s an accompanying photo of Mr. Sublette holding a sign that says, “I’m a meteorologist, not a rodent.”

Would we enjoy this furry, fat creature as much had he told us warmer days were surely coming to relieve this stretch of single digit temperatures & that spring is just around the corner? I don’t think so. I think P. Phil gives us an emotional break from all that’s been bothering us since winter began & he is a cool focus for our complaints. He gives us a day of speculation, jokes & fun & we should EMBRACE THE HOG.

This is short because not only is it Groundhog Day … it’s Super Bowl Sunday. We’re spending the evening with friends & I’m on my way to make some of those Red Lobster cheese biscuits & a bunch of brownies to fatten us up & give P. Phil some competition in the hefty department; we’ll be eating all that & more at the Super Bowl Party.

I hate to stop writing but there’s only so much you can say about a rodent … albeit a fat one … who stuck his head out this morning, saw his shadow & will be personally responsibile for every bit of bad weather we have from now until the Fourth of July. If I had time, I’d tell you about the Groundhog that Ate Amherst County ……………..

Image

 

 

 

8 Responses to “The Groundhog that Ate Amherst County”

  1. Anthony Moshonas February 2, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

    Lol ….Too Funny Linda : )

    Like

    • heimdalco February 2, 2014 at 10:09 pm #

      We don’t want another of those Amherst County incidents, do we, Tony … LOL

      Like

  2. monkeys22013 February 3, 2014 at 12:19 am #

    As always Linda, so funny and entertaining..can’t wait to hear about the “Groundhog that ate Amherst county” :o)

    Like

    • heimdalco February 3, 2014 at 6:07 am #

      LOL, Leslie …so glad you’re enjoying my blog. I’m have such a good time doing it … Hugs to you all

      Like

  3. Deluca, Ellen February 3, 2014 at 5:10 pm #

    I love the signs! Linda, do you have a blog site on the internet? I’m happy to go there.
    Ellen

    Like

    • heimdalco February 3, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

      Hi, Ellen … thanks for reading my blog. This blog through Word Press is an internet blog site & I actually receive comments & requests to follow me here from people that I have not invited but have read my entries through this site. By accepting my invitation to follow my blog entries here you are reading what’s going out to the internet through Word Press. And I THANK YOU so much. You can go back as far as December to read my blog entries since I began on the site in December. I’m enjoying doing this so much …. Thank you again.

      Like

  4. Willy S. February 3, 2014 at 6:03 pm #

    I enjoyed her reading it to me. We each have our gifts (I think) and writing is Linda’s for sure. You ought to hear her tell a story from childhood … “the sun was out and I had a pretty red and white muslin dress that I made from spinning the material on a wheel and then stitching it together with cat whiskers” … “and everyone said, isn’t she something!”

    Keep exercising that part of your brain Linda … you have more than a husband for a fan now!

    Like

    • heimdalco February 3, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

      Awwwwwwwwww, thank you, Willy. And I LOVE your story about making a dress out of cat whiskers. I may use it to start another blog entry … LOL. Love you …

      Like

Leave a Reply

